WASHINGTON STATE TO REQUIRE PISTOL AMMUNITION MICRO-STAMPING

Will mico-stamping end gun violence?  I think not......

Will mico-stamping end gun violence? I think not......

If enacted, House bill # 3359 would require all pistol ammunition sold in Washington State to be micro-stamped with a unique alpha-numeric code on both the projectile AND the case. This would go into effect in 2010.  I am including here a letter I have written to all of my district reps.  I urge all who care about the 2nd Amendment to do the same.  Please feel free to copy and paste my letter if you desire.  Click on the picture to get the PDF of the House Bill.

I am writing this e-mail in order to tell you my thoughts on HOUSE BILL 3359 Ammunition Micro stamping, that I believe was first brought to the floor on 02/0708. In my considered opinion, this house bill is seriously flawed and in practice will do nothing to reduce gun violence and other such gun crimes. This bill will undoubtedly cause a huge increase in the cost of pistol ammunition due to the added processes needed for the marking of both the bullet and the case. I fail to see how this in any way will deter a would-be offender from using a pistol or any gun for that matter if intent on committing a crime. All this bill will do is further burden the law-abiding citizens who are in no way a threat to anyone. The 2nd amendment to the constitution states that the right of the citizens to bear arms will not be infringed. This law will in fact do so and is intrusive and excessively burdensome to the law-abiding citizen who would be forced to use this ammunition. I urge you to not vote in favor of this bill in any way. As an NRA member and as a 30-year military veteran, I am very keen on this subject and follow it closely so as to guide my voting each election cycle. Thank you for your time and consideration on this important issue.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

