DON BENTON, 17th DISTRICT REPLY TO AMMO MICRO-STAMPING LEGISLATION

I support the 2nd Amendment and the Bill of Rights

I support the 2nd Amendment and the Bill of Rights

Thank you for your email. I greatly appreciate your input and concern regarding HB 3359. This misguided idea was introduced during the 2008 legislative session. I opposed it then and I will oppose it if it comes up again this year. Bills introduced last year must be reintroduced to be considered this year. A new number would then be assigned to the measure. As of this writing, nothing like this has been introduced.

Be assured that I have always opposed and will continue to strongly oppose any legislation that attempts to erode our Second Amendment rights. As a strong defender of our 2nd Amendment rights, I understand the importance of an armed citizenry. The last two legislative sessions have seen many attempts to usurp these freedoms by imposing unreasonable regulations on gun shows, banning “assault” rifles, and other similar measures. These attempts have failed in the past with my strong opposition, and be assured that I will continue to actively oppose this type of legislation.
These “gun control” measures place unreasonable restrictions on our Second Amendment rights. Even more important to a Washington State citizen, they also violate Article 1 Section 24 of the Washing State Constitution. These proposed onerous regulations on the manufacture and sale of ammunition are a definite impairment of the right of the individual citizen to bear arms in defense of himself.
Thank you again for your email. Please do not hesitate to contact me again with any further comments or if there is anything I can do for you.
Sincerely,
Don Benton
State Senator
Seventeenth District
As a Conservative, I may be able to vote for this guy………….
  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

