WHERE WERE YOU ON 9/11/01? – A TRIBUTE TO THOSE WE LOST

  1. #1 by MARYD on 09/11/2010 - 12:15 am

    I WAS WALKING FROM THE BROAD ST. SUBWAY STATION TOWARD TRINITY CHURCH, WHEN I HEARD THIS “BOOM”. IMMEDIATELY, PAPERS WERE FLOATING DOWN ALL AROUND US. I CRIED OUT “THEY MUST HAVE BOMBED THE WTC AGAIN” SINCE SMOKE WAS BILLOWING FROM THAT DIRECTION. I RAN TO MY OFFICE AT RECTOR & WASHINGTON, AND COULD SEE FLAMES SHOOTING OUT OF THE TWIN TOWER. A UPS DRIVER TOLD ME THE RADIO ANNOUNCED A PLANE CRASHED INTO IT. THEN AS I TURNED AROUND, I SPOTTED THE WHEEL OF THE PLANE LAYING AGAINST THE LIGHT POLE IT TOPPLED. POLICE BEGAN DIRECTING US TO WALK AS QUICKLY AS POSSIBLE AWAY FROM THE AREA TOWARD BATTERY PARK. IT WAS THEN THAT I HEARD A BUZZING OVER MY HEAD & SAW THE SECOND PLANE COMING DOWN SO LOW IN OUR DIRECTION. I HEARD SCREAMS OF TERROR AS WE ALL RAN FOR COVER THINKING WE’D BE HIT, THEN WATCHING AS IT SLAMMED INTO THE 2ND TOWER. WE KNEW AT THAT POINT WE WERE UNDER ATTACK. GOD WAS GIVING US A WAKEUP CALL THAT DAY BUT SO MANY ARE STILL SLEEPING.

  2. #2 by Rick L. on 09/11/2010 - 9:18 pm

    MARYD our heart goes out to all those that were effected by the attack on 9-11-2001. We were safe at home that day painting the outside of our house, the TV on in the background with our windows and doors open. I was out side at the time and my wife said you better come look at this. It was just surrealistic for hours, days afterwards. We live close to a small airport that went silent for days except for a few fighter jets that came and went occasionally. Time seemed to stop. Later I learned a neighbor was flown out to ground zero for his knowledge and use of sensing equipment to find survivors.
    Trying to sort things out afterwards was difficult, you know, conspiracy theories, truth mixed in with stories from bias media, second hand after thoughts, hate groups, stuff like that. All I know is, thousands of Americans were killed and I still have the picture in my head of innocent people leaping to their demise from who knows how many stories up. Absolutely Horrific.
    Without going into a lengthily hateful vengeful response that would effect what disrupted sleep I already have, I have to say that the people that are responsible for this act could not die a slow enough gruesome painful death that could amount to the suffering that was caused that day to all the families that were effected and the American people. This would include anyone that would say that America over reacted over this act of War.
    Oh, our neighbor that went to Ground Zero, he has developed something from being there that will be the cause of his demise in a few years and the descriptions of what he saw, well, better left unsaid.
    So all the Muslims that think building Mosque anywhere in the United States is OK, you have moved to the wrong country. GET OUT OF HERE and take your Muslim Barrack Hussein Obama with you!
    It’s only for the respect of the Vet that runs this site do I refrain from speaking or should I say, typing what would normally come out of my mouth.
    WE WILL NEVER FORGET!

Leave a Reply

