RESPONCE FROM SENATOR PATTY MURRAY ON HER POSITION WITH REGARD TO THE INTER-AMERICAN ARMS TREATY

JUST SAY "NO" TO PATTY MURRAY - -I SUPPORT DINO ROSSI

As you will read, this is a non-answer, just as I thought I would get from her.  I didn’t think she would tip her hand as to her position on this issue.  I for one am sure she is all for it.  I have no reason to believe otherwise;

—-

Thank you for contacting me regarding Senate approval of the UN Small Arms Treaty. I appreciate hearing from you.

As you may know, Article II, Section 2, Clause 2 of the Constitution charges the Senate with advise and consent responsibilities to any treaty considered by the President.  I view this responsibility to be one of my most important duties as a U.S. Senator. As the Senate considers each treaty, I consider each issue with the same level of respect, scrutiny and courtesy that I believe all treaties deserve.

The United States has a long history of using treaties to address collective security threats and various other transnational issues.  For example, the North Atlantic Treaty, signed April 4, 1949 has enabled the United States to develop a long and productive relationship with other nations as a partner in the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO).  NATO troops have served in conflicts across the world for the past 51 years and currently serve in Afghanistan today.  Another example of a treaty is the Antarctic Treaty.  The Antarctic Treaty, signed by President Eisenhower and ratified by the United States Senate on August 10, 1960, regulates the use of the continent of Antarctica.  The Antarctic Treaty specifically protects scientific endeavor, prevents militarization in Antarctica, and was the first arms control treaty of the Cold War.

As the Senate considers future treaties, I will definitely keep your thoughts in mind.  If you would like to know more about my work in the Senate, please feel free to sign up for my updates at http://murray.senate.gov/updates.  Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future if I may be of assistance.
Sincerely,

Patty Murray
United States Senator

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

