Representa​tive Jaime Herrera Beutler – RESPONSE TO MY LETTER REGARDING HEALTH CARE..

 

Representa tive Jaime Herrera Beutler

April 11, 2011

 

Thank you for contacting me regarding implementation of last year’s health care bill, the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act. It is an honor to represent the people of Southwest Washington and I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with me.

I realize many families in Southwest Washington are struggling to find access to quality affordable health care, and ensuring that citizens in Southwest Washington have access to quality, affordable health care is a top priority for me. However, I believe we need true transformational health care reform that does not increase taxes or government spending. This is why I voted to repeal last year’s healthcare bill, because I do not believe we should continue to borrow 42 cents of every dollar spent from future generations to pay for today’s policies.

I am a cosponsor of a bill that would allow patients to purchase health care across state lines, because more insurance companies competing for your business will lower the cost of insurance and give you more choices. I also support Association Health Plans for small businesses which will let individuals have the same tax breaks big corporations have.

These proposals are far from the ultimate solution to our county’s health needs, but they are significant because they allow more people to choose the health care that meets their needs.  Those of us in Congress have more work to do – like ensuring there are safety nets to help for our most vulnerable.  Please know I will not rest until we have put in place innovative reforms that promote access to health care for all Americans while also protecting future generations from crushing debt.

Thank you again for contacting me on this important issue. I invite you to visit my website at www.herrerabeutler.house.gov for additional information or to sign up to be kept up to date on these issues. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of further assistance.

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

