(UPDATED 102011) RETIRED MILITARY MEDICATIONS CO-PAYS TO INCREASE 1 OCT –

I just found out that my co-pays will be going up with Tri-Care for all my meds, that is, unless I sign up for Tri-Care Home Delivery.  Here are my letters to my elected officials;

300018 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D, WA]

“I am retired Air Force and I have Tri-Care as my and my wife’s health insurance. We have just received news that my co-pays for my medications are going up across the board, unless I sign up for Tri-Care home delivery system.  I am not at all happy about this on many levels.  1.  You were supposed to NOT allow the government to balance the books on the back of the retired GI’s.  2. It has been demonstrated time and time again that the government cannot and does not perform at the same level as the private sector.  There is no doubt in my mind that my medications will get “toyed with” by some bureaucrat with a mandate to save as much money as possible.  And that they will do so at the expense of us retired military.  The drugs will come from the lowest bidder and I have zero confidence in proper handling and storage of these sensitive compounds.  I can guarantee that you will not have my vote if this course of action by Tri-care is not stopped and reversed.  Your own website states “Maria has been a tireless advocate of ensuring our nation’s veterans have access to quality affordable health care. In 2005, when news broke that veterans were going to be charged higher annual fees and copays, Maria took to the floor of the U.S. Senate and fought for $2.7 billion in veterans’ health care funding. Maria believes military retirees should be allowed to take a tax deduction for their TRICARE supplemental premiums. In 2003, Maria worked hard to block premature closures of VA health facilities across the nation with Senator Patty Murray. She pushed for a measure requiring a full study on the impact of closing any facility before any action was taken, and also supported a measure requiring a Congressional review before a facility could be scaled-back or closed. Maria has sought to make veterans health care a mandatory program, with funds set aside based on inflation and the size of the veterans population, as part of the Veterans Health Care Funding Guarantee Act.”  What happened to your support here?  We GI’s made it possible for you to have your job, you need to stand up for us now that we have served our country honorably. I want a reply to this message as I post all my correspondence to my ELECTED Officials.  I am sure my readers will want to read your reply verbatim.”

MARIA CANTWELL’S REPLY: 092011

Thank you for contacting me about funding for military benefits.   I appreciate hearing from you on this important matter and sincerely regret the delayed response. Government has a responsibility to spend taxpayers’ dollars wisely, but it also has a responsibility to provide certain services and guarantees to the American people. I take both of these very seriously. To ensure that we have the ability to defend our borders, maintain our infrastructure, educate our children, and more, it is imperative that we keep our financial house in order.  A principal responsibility of the U.S. Congress under the Constitution is to provide for the national defense.  I take this responsibility very seriously, and I am committed to and continue to support legislative efforts to maintain the effectiveness and readiness of the U.S.’s armed forces by raising our soldiers’ quality of life, improving housing conditions for military personnel and their families, and modernizing our force capabilities to effectively meet future threats. I am profoundly grateful for the service of America’s veterans and for the sacrifices they have made to defend and preserve our great nation. Please be assured that I will continue to work with my colleagues on behalf of the many veterans in the State of Washington.

Thank you again for contacting me to share your thoughts on this matter.  You may also be interested in signing up for periodic updates for Washington State residents.  If you are interested in subscribing to this update, please visit my website at http://cantwell.senate.gov.  Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future if I can be of further assistance.

Sincerely,
Maria Cantwell
United States Senator

For future correspondence with my office, please visit my website at
http://cantwell.senate.gov/contact/index.html

MY NOTE: OBVIOUSLY A FORM LETTER.  NICE PERSONAL REPLY…..SHE IS GETTING MORE LIKE EX-CONGRESSMAN BRAIN BAIRD ALL THE TIME..

300076 Sen. Patty Murray [D, WA]

Thank you for contacting me regarding the recently created Joint Select Committee on Deficit Reduction, of which I am a co-chair.  I appreciate hearing from you about your priorities for this process. As you may know, on August 2, 2011, President Obama signed the Budget Control Act of 2011 into law after its bipartisan passage through Congress. Following an initial down payment of almost $1 trillion in deficit reduction through cuts to discretionary spending, this legislation created a Joint Select Committee tasked with identifying further deficit reduction of approximately $1.5 trillion.  In the event the Committee is unable to produce a plan to meet that amount, immediate across-the-board cuts will be enacted that will come from both defense and non-defense spending. In accordance with the legislation, Committee members were to be appointed by Majority and Minority Leaders in each chamber of Congress. On August 10, 2011, I was asked by Senate Majority Leader Reid to co-chair the Joint Select Committee on Deficit Reduction. I agreed to accept this role because I take the goals of this Committee seriously and because I believe that it is time for members of both parties to work together to improve our nation’s financial future.  Currently, I am working with my House and Senate colleagues from both sides of the aisle to address our national debt and deficit in a balanced and bipartisan manner.  I know we need to make the tough choices that put our country on a more sustainable fiscal track but I also know that we must protect the middle class, seniors, and the most vulnerable who are struggling mightily in today’s economy. I do not want to pass an unsustainable debt along to my own grandchildren and will be working tirelessly toward a bipartisan plan that reduces our deficit without neglecting the need for investment in areas that help to spur economic growth, create jobs, and promote our country’s long-term competitiveness. I appreciate hearing from you about your priorities for the Joint Select Committee and I will certainly keep the suggestions of Washingtonians in mind as I work with my colleagues to address our fiscal situation. Please continue to pass on your thoughts, as they will help me and my fellow Committee members as we take on this challenge.  You can also visit http://deficitreduction.gov for further information about the work of the Joint Select Committee, and if you would like to know more about my work in the Senate, please sign up for my weekly updates at http://murray.senate.gov/updates.
Sincerely,

Patty Murray
United States Senator

412486 Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler [R, WA-3]

Thank you for contacting me about military benefits. It is an honor to represent the people of Southwest Washington, and I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with me. I am committed to ensuring our military will continue to have the tools they need to do their job both now and in the future.  I am also committed to making sure our servicemen and servicewomen and veterans will continue to have access to the services they need and benefits they have been promised. America’s military and military veterans are integral to our country’s independence, and I recognize the many sacrifices our military makes to uphold our country’s freedoms and safety.  I am grateful for our military’s sacrifices, and it concerns me when people do not show military members and veterans the respect and thanks they deserve.  America’s military has been strong in battle, unwavering in loyalty, and unmatched in honor and I commend them for their unparalleled bravery and service to this country. Since coming to Washington D.C. I have focused on getting our country’s fiscal house in order.  Our nation is facing a $14 trillion deficit, and we have many difficult decisions in front of us.  I believe there are places to cut wasteful spending throughout our federal budget, including the Department of Defense, but I will not support cuts to services and benefits for our active military and veterans. Congress passed the Budget Control Act of 2011 to raise our nation’s debt limit, in order to meet our nation’s obligations.  The Joint Select Committee on Deficit Reduction is a bipartisan, 12 member committee that was created as part of the Budget Control Act of 2011.  The committee is tasked with making recommendations to cut wasteful spending by $1.2 trillion and finding solutions to our nation’s debt problems.  The committee’s recommendation to Congress is due on November 23, 2011. I appreciate your thoughts on this challenging issue, and I will keep them in mind as I learn more about the committee’s recommendations.  I am optimistic that Congress will continue to find bipartisan solutions to our debt crisis. Rest assured, I will not support a plan that balances our budget on the backs of our military and veterans. Thank you again for contacting me on this important issue. I invite you to visit my website at www.HerrreraBeutler.house.gov for additional information or to sign up to be kept up to date on this important issue. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of assistance.
Sincerely,

Jaime Herrera Beutler
Member of Congress

  1. #1 by Rick L on 09/16/2011 - 8:45 am

    This is quite perplexing to have you sign up for Tri-Care and have your MEDS home delivered. Mine have always been delivered to my home. And as far as the Co-Pay, well you can thank your Government for that seeing as how they continue to de-value the Dollar. It would appear that Jaime, Patty the dolt and Maria do not have your better interest at heart. Their agenda is to destroy America. Seeing as how they all have such a good foothold on their job, such as it is, you might as well get used to it. It may behouve you to look into what they are actually up to because with Communist like these three in office things will never get any better.

Leave a Reply

