(UPDATED 102011) RESPONSE FROM SENATOR MARIA CANTWELL AND CONGRESSWOMAN HERRERA REGARDING CUTTING MILITARY BENEFITS

SENATOR MARIA CANTWELL (D-WA) She needs to be unemployed........badly....

I am posting this verbatim including the salutation because it makes a good point.  If these letters were really read, the reply wouldn’t read like this.  Also it doesn’t even address my concerns……

“Dear Mr. Usaf Retired,

Thank you for contacting me regarding military pay. I appreciate hearing from you on this important matter and sincerely regret the delayed response.  During the budget negotiations for fiscal year 2011 there were concerns that if the government shut down due to lack of a federal budget our soldiers would lose their paychecks.  I was very concerned with this possibility; no matter what happens regarding the federal budget the brave men and women in our Armed Forces should never need to worry about if they will receive a paycheck to support their families.  To address this, I joined with Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-TX) in cosponsoring the Ensuring Pay for Our Military Act of 2011 (S. 721).  This legislation would have required the Secretary of the Treasury to pay any service-member who performs active duty service during a government shutdown.  Thankfully, Congress was able to pass a budget which ensured our men and women in uniform continue to receive their paychecks.  A principal responsibility of the U.S. Congress under the Constitution is to provide for the national defense.  I take this responsibility very seriously, and I am committed to and continue to support legislative efforts to maintain the effectiveness and readiness of the U.S.’s Armed Forces by raising our soldiers’ quality of life, improving housing conditions for military personnel and their families, and modernizing our force capabilities to effectively meet future threats.   I have long fought to ensure that military service members have resources and tools necessary to safely and successfully accomplish the missions they are given.  I believe that it is essential to guarantee that the brave men and women of our Armed Forces know that the benefits promised to them, including their basic pay will always be there.   Thank you again for contacting me to share your thoughts on this matter.  You may also be interested in signing up for periodic updates for Washington State residents.  If you are interested in subscribing to this update, please visit my website at http://cantwell.senate.gov.  Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future if I can be of further assistance.

Sincerely,
Maria Cantwell
United States Senator

For future correspondence with my office, please visit my website at
http://cantwell.senate.gov/contact/index.html   ”

HERRERA-BEUTLER

HERRERA-BEUTLER

October 17, 2011

Dear Mr. Usaf Retired,

Thank you for contacting me about military benefits. It is an honor to represent the people of Southwest Washington, and I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with me. I am committed to ensuring our military will continue to have the tools they need to do their job both now and in the future.  I am also committed to making sure our servicemen and servicewomen and veterans will continue to have access to the services they need and benefits they have been promised. America’s military and military veterans are integral to our country’s independence, and I recognize the many sacrifices our military makes to uphold our country’s freedoms and safety.  I am grateful for our military’s sacrifices, and it concerns me when people do not show military members and veterans the respect and thanks they deserve.  America’s military has been strong in battle, unwavering in loyalty, and unmatched in honor and I commend them for their unparalleled bravery and service to this country. Since coming to Washington D.C. I have focused on getting our country’s fiscal house in order.  Our nation is facing a $14 trillion deficit, and we have many difficult decisions in front of us.  I believe there are places to cut wasteful spending throughout our federal budget, including the Department of Defense, but I will not support cuts to services and benefits for our active military and veterans. Congress passed the Budget Control Act of 2011 to raise our nation’s debt limit, in order to meet our nation’s obligations.  The Joint Select Committee on Deficit Reduction is a bipartisan, 12 member committee that was created as part of the Budget Control Act of 2011.  The committee is tasked with making recommendations to cut wasteful spending by $1.2 trillion and finding solutions to our nation’s debt problems.  The committee’s recommendation to Congress is due on November 23, 2011. I appreciate your thoughts on this challenging issue, and I will keep them in mind as I learn more about the committee’s recommendations.  I am optimistic that Congress will continue to find bipartisan solutions to our debt crisis. Rest assured, I will not support a plan that balances our budget on the backs of our military and veterans. Thank you again for contacting me on this important issue.

I invite you to visit my website at www.HerrreraBeutler.house.gov for additional information or to sign up to be kept up to date on this important issue. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of assistance

Member of Congress

Sincerely,

Jaime Herrera Beutler

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

